View Single Post
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 04:34pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
There was no call because I made up the scenario. I saw a ball hit a coach in the back of the head while he was standing in the box looking downcourt and wondered what I would have called if he had intentionally grabbed the ball while an opponent was trying to save it.

I posted it just to get a discussion started, since I couldn't find a definitive answer in the NF rulebook.

It has been fun, hasn't it?

Oh yeah - what would I call in this case? If I thought the coach intentionally grabbed the ball to prevent the opponent from making a play, he gets a T for unsportsmanlike conduct, since the ball was still live when he did it.
Very clever.

Howzabout this one: in Mark's real play someone yells "Hey coach! Watch out!!" and the coach quickly turns and (ahem) intentionally (cough cough) catches the ball before it pops him in the nose, negating A1's valiant and death defying dive to save the ball.

So, what say all you good folks who would nail a coach to the wall for (ahem) intentionally interfering with this play?
Something like this I would have to see to rule on. For it to happen, A1 must have been near enough by that he had a chance to touch it before it hit Coach B in the back, and someone yelled early enough to allow B time to turn around and reflex a catch. If A was nearby - I might give A the ball, because of equity, JR or I might give B the ball. I do not believe in this case I would have a T.

Because this sitch gives more specific info than the original post, it is filling a bubble that says B grabbed the ball to prevent from being bopped in the noggin. Which is what we should be using: use your NOGGIN and BE FAIR when weird stuff happens.
Reply With Quote