Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
There was no call because I made up the scenario. I saw a ball hit a coach in the back of the head while he was standing in the box looking downcourt and wondered what I would have called if he had intentionally grabbed the ball while an opponent was trying to save it.
I posted it just to get a discussion started, since I couldn't find a definitive answer in the NF rulebook.
It has been fun, hasn't it?
Oh yeah - what would I call in this case? If I thought the coach intentionally grabbed the ball to prevent the opponent from making a play, he gets a T for unsportsmanlike conduct, since the ball was still live when he did it.
|
Very clever.
Howzabout this one: in Mark's real play someone yells "Hey coach! Watch out!!" and the coach quickly turns and (ahem)
intentionally (cough cough) catches the ball before it pops him in the nose, negating A1's valiant and death defying dive to save the ball.
So, what say all you good folks who would nail a coach to the wall for (ahem)
intentionally interfering with this play?