Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
With regard to SITUATION A(c): Because A6 was wearing illegal equipment he/she really had not become a player and therfore can be denied entry into the game until the next opportunity to subsitute assuming that A6 has removed the offending equipment.
|
Ignoring Rule 3-3-3 completely now, aren't you, Mark? You know- the one that states "A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court". Don't like that one because it completely contradicts your statement above that A6 has not become a player, even though A6 has been beckoned by an official and has entered the court in SitA(c)? 
Interpreters are supposed to interpret the written rules. They aren't supposed to try to make up their own rules that just happen to fit their own personal philosophy. As I stated above, there is nothing in the rules that will back up what is basically just your own personal interpretation. If you can ever come up with a rule that will back up your supposition, feel free to post it.
|
I am not ignoring R3-S3-A3. B1 commits a common foul against A2. B1's foul is Team B's seventh foul of the half. The calling official reports the foul. The Scorer tells him that Team A is not in the bonus. The callling official beckons A6 in to replace A2. A6 enters the court and A2 goes to the bench. This means that A2 cannot re-enter the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the game clock has started. Before the administering official places the ball at the disposal of Team A for the penalty throw-in for B1's foul, the Scorer signals the officials that Team A is in fact in the bonus. A6 must leave the game and A2 must re-enter the game to shoot his/her free throws. For all intents and purposes, A6 remained a substitute and A2 remained a player because of the bonus free throw situation. Why? A6 cannot replace A2 because A2 has free throws to attempt. The Casebook Play involving the substitute, A6, who is wearing jewelry is now different. A6, is not entitled to enter the game because he/she is not properly equipped and therefore cannot become a player.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|