View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 10:44am
Roger Greene Roger Greene is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally posted by BigUmpJohn
From what I am gathering from these two rules is that, if the uniform is in its proper place/tucked in, and the fielder is showing the she has control of the ball in her hand, we have a catch. I've seen this play before in MLB, and the player was ruled to have possession. But that's baseball, who cares?

So, now that I've contradicted myself, this post is now useless. Sorry guys.
That could have been true under OBR before, but not now.
A joint MLB committee has issued a ruling in August of this year that states that a ball lodged inside the uniform of a player is dead. Of course that takes the fun out of the old (pre WWII, I beleive) play where a batted ball, after passing by F4 lodged in the rear pocket of R1, and he scampered around the bases while the defense attempted to retrieve the ball to tagg him out.

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote