View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2004, 08:58am
James Neil James Neil is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
NFHS ruling

According to NFHS 2-32-1 ”A ball in player possession is a live ball held or controlled by a player after it has been handed or snapped to him, or after he has caught or recovered it.” In this play B94 never has actual possession. I believe his “pitching” of the ball would be considered more of a bat then a pass and as such is legal under 9-7-2...” No player shall bat a loose ball other than a pass or a fumble in flight, or a low scrimmage kick in flight which he is attempting to block in or behind the expanded neutral zone.
So what we have is a great play by B94 and a half-decent run by B74 (he probably a big fat nose guard) giving B the ball 1/10 @ A-39 clock on the snap.
Reply With Quote