View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2004, 10:47am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Chuck,

When B5 turned, was it his momentum that caused the contact with A5, or did B5 turn and decide (in your judgement) to pop A5 in the chest with is forearm?
He definitely turned, took a look, and planted it on him. I really do think he did it on purpose.

To answer Tony's question, I didn't like it b/c of the game situation. Less than two minutes in, and it was the first foul of the game. It's one of those situations where the experienced guys say, "Don't wake up the coach". Well, that call is obviously going to wake him up at that point of the game.

I think it was probably defendable either way (common or intentional), and so in that particular circumstance, the common foul might've been more appropriate. Wonder if I can get the game tape. . .
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote