View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2004, 04:04pm
Smitty Smitty is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally posted by SHellmueller
Rulebook is in my bag, and I'm at work, but I end the 5 second count when the player begin to advance toward the basket.

Did I miss something?
It seems to be a common misconception that if A1 is "moving toward the basket" that the 5 second count should stop. But if B1 is still in a legal guarding position between A1 and the basket and A1 drives to the hoop and you stop your count, but then A1 pulls back out because the lane has closed, still dribbling, you just penalized B1 for some good defense.
Reply With Quote