View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2004, 12:42pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by carldog
A1 dribbles in frontcourt with B1 closely guarding: B1 is "guarding" which means "in the path of an offensive opponent," And B1 is also "closely guarding" : B1 is in a guarding stance at a distance not exceeeding 6 feet.

Begin the 5-second count.

A1 dribble-penetrates - A1 beats B1 by a step - so that B1 is no longer "in the path of an offensive opponent." Now B1 is on A1's hip or fanny - a step behind A1....yet still within 6 feet. Is B1 still 'closely guarding' A1 ?

Do you (a) reward A1's good penetrating dribble move by stopping the 5-second count...

or Do you (b) reward B1's good defensive effort by continuing the 5-second count?
End the count. rule book talks about the dribbler getting head and shoulders past, That's when the count ends.
Reply With Quote