View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 10:35am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by ridavis13
The word replaced was not used in the original question. Player was removed from the floor. Then time out called by team B. I agree that a timeout should not have been granted to Team B, but since it was, do you penalize Team A by not allowing their star to return to a close game in the final seconds, if he is ready to play after the TO?
You're right, it wasn't. By rule, the TO cannot be granted until he is replaced. Therefore, when you stated B had been granted a TO, I did not assume the officials did it in error. You didn't say it was erroneously granted.

This isn't a correctable error. Since Team A did not use a TO to keep the player in the game, by rule, he can't return.
Reply With Quote