The views were basically the same as were espoused here:
1) Give A the ball at the spot nearest to where it was caught. Since you don't have definite knowledge of exactly how much time should've run off, you put the full 2.4 seconds back on the clock.
2) Give A the ball at the spot nearest to where it was caught. Take some time off the clock.
3) Do over.
Our interpreter's solution was #2, with one second taken off the clock. His reasoning was that the player caught a live ball and that can't be disregarded, so you must give the ball back to A where he caught it. But some time MUST come off, since the ball was touched inbounds. Since the clock must start and you don't know how fast the timer would be able to start and stop the clock, you allow exactly one second of start/stop time, using the "lag time" principles.
I don't agree completley with the reasoning, but it's probably the easiest thing to explain to the coaches, and it's a pretty reasonable compromise.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
|