Thread: Here's a play
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2004, 06:13pm
parepat parepat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
I would say a do over is authorized but not warranted here. I am without my rule book, but, isn't there a catch all provision that says that the referee can take any action to address fundamental unfairness in the game (ie award a touchdown, call a forfeit) that are not covered specifically in the rules? I call it the CYA rule.

Not warranted here though. The coach can't abdicate his responsibility to independently know the rules to the official.
Reply With Quote