View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2004, 04:47pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.

REPLY: No...you must have a flag on the ground if you intend to apply NF 3-6-3. It says, "When a team attempts to conserve or consume time illegally, the referee shall order the clock started or stopped." About ten years ago or so the word "illegally" was added because of referees "abusing" 3-6-3 and applying it even when a team used a perfectly legal means of conserving or consuming time.
REPLY: For those who might care...I was off by about six years in this prior post. The Fed changed NF 3-6-3 back in 1987 to add the word "illegally." This was to ensure that the R did not invoke the timing discretion rule unless there was a foul involved.

Your local rules historian (along with Mr. Heisey),
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote