View Single Post
Old Thu Jan 08, 2004, 03:24pm
Do not give a damn!!

Lightbulb You KNOW better than I would.

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef

How do you KNOW what his motiviation was?
Just like when I get stopped by the Police in a high priced car and I am not ticketed, but asked more about the car and what I do for a living, you tend to cross off possible reasoning. It does not help that the community this principal came from has had race problems in the past. It was and is a very recognized place for African-Americans in all walks of life to not be caught in that community. Because as an official of my racial makeup, if I want to work games (at that time) I have to work in many communities like this. As a matter of fact, I had no choices to work in communities where the entire school was all-Black. I would also like to say, that the individuals that were around and were all not people of color, thought the very same thing. The assignor, the official I worked with that night, a few mentors of mine, all thought the same thing. Maybe it was not, but he did all the things that pointed in that direction.

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef

I ask because I have a similiar situation.

Two years ago, a AD who is black and works at a pre-dominantly black school, marked me off. He did not mark off either of my two partners. Should I suspect that the markoff is racially motivated? More importantly, how can I KNOW that's why he marked me off?