View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2004, 10:36am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
I still don't think you'll traveling called if he pivots on the wrong foot after a jump stop.
I agree, which is why I added the "asterick" to my post. But this isn't as big a conspiracy as one might think. Nowadays in college, they also use the "two-count" a LOT when they shouldn't. (By "they", I mean D1 guys on TV.)

If A1 catches the ball in the air and then lands on his left foot followed quickly by his right foot, almost NOBODY calls a travel when A1 pivots on his right foot. Even tho, by NCAA (and Fed) rules, the left foot is the pivot foot in that situation.

So yes, NBA officials may allow a player to pivot off either foot when they really shouldn't; but that happens at every level.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote