View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 01, 2004, 08:04pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Chuck, he asked you to explain, not copy and paste.

The NBA rule allows for a pivot in situations where the NFHS rule does not. It's associated more with where the feet are, as opposed to whether the land simultaneously or not.
Ok, I was hoping that the underlined sections would explain the "two-count". Tony's right about allowing a pivot in situations where NCAA and Fed would not. For example:

A1 catches the ball while airborne and lands on one foot. A1 then jumps off that foot and lands on both feet simultaneously.

In Fed rules, A1 may not pivot. A1 has no pivot foot. That's the "jump stop".

However, in the NBA, A1 would (probably*) be allowed to pivot on either foot. In the above example, when A1 landed on one foot after catching the ball, that was his "count of one". When he then landed on both feet, that's his second count of the "two-count". The pivot is not established in the NBA until the second count; so A1 may still pivot. If his feet are "parallel" to the basket, then either foot can be his pivot. If one foot is closer to the basket, than only the rear foot can be the pivot.

*(In reality, however, the player is usually allowed to use the forward foot.)

Is that better, Tony?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote