View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2001, 11:57am
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

A1 to inbound on spot throw in on endline. Referee is standing OOB about 6 feet away, making visible count. His arm extends over the boundary, so it is over the court as he counts. Yeah, I know he should be back farther but there is very little space to the wall and he was back as far as he could go.

A1's pass hits his arm while it is over the court. Remember, the official is standing OOB, so technically, the ball has hit an official while he is OOB. By rule, this is the same as hitting the floor OOB.

Would you call an inbounds violation? Why or why not? After all, A1 did throw the ball directly toward the court... or did he?

Reply With Quote