http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/column...ohn&id=1691135
Upon further review ...
Referee Ron Blum admitted a mistake was made when he didn't overrule a first-quarter challenge that would have benefited the Chiefs.
Receiver Eddie Kennison made a 32-yard reception in the Chiefs' first possession, but cornerback Brian Williams stripped the ball from his hands. Williams clearly touched the ball while he was out of bounds before it was recovered by safety Brian Russell.
"The first challenge, the way that it was worded to me, that Dick Vermeil was challenging the fact that his runner had stepped out of bounds prior to fumbling the ball, which he had not." Blum said after the game. "I did not see the second touch from out of bounds. In discussing it with the observer after the game, I missed the second touch. It should have been an illegal touch because of the second touch. He batted it again up the field, evidently, and I did not see that.
"I missed the play."