Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
I think what confuses coaches is that they don't know the difference between the rules pertaining to a dribbler and an airborne shooter.
Once A1 goes airborne, B1 can't move under A1 to draw a charge. Some coaches then stretch that understanding to thinking that B1 has to be "set" if contact occurs while A1 is a dribbler as well.
Z
|
I don't think you are giving us howler monkeys enough credit. We are not confusing the two rules, we have two sets of rules. Remember, the same coach who says "Come on, he wasn't set" when his guy draws the PC will turn to the other rule book when there is a block. You then hear "Come on, the guy charged right into him!"
I would also like to point out that the art of coaching the flop seems to have vanished. Years ago, Lefty Dreisel taught it very specifically. His player would make sure that the opponent was chest-to-chest with him, then grab the front of the opponent's jersey and fall backward, bringing the opponent down on top of him. (I actually saw a tape of him teaching this.) It took a few years before all the ACC officials were on to it, but in the meantime they would get one or two calls every couple of games. Now that was high art!