View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2003, 03:24pm
Warren Willson Warren Willson is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally posted by tornado
MLB rule 6.07(b) When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the first pitch to the next batter of either team, or before any play or attempted play, the umpire shall (1) declare the proper batter out; and (2) nullify any advance or score made because of a ball batted by the improper batter or because of the improper batter's advance to first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise.

The key word here is OTHERWISE. That covers a balk. R1 is out & R2 has to return to 1st.
Please read OBR 6.07(b.2)NOTE, which makes a clear EXCEPTION in the case of balks, among other things.

Hope this helps.

Cheers
__________________
Warren Willson
Reply With Quote