View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2003, 07:14am
tornado tornado is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
MLB rule 6.07(b) When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the first pitch to the next batter of either team, or before any play or attempted play, the umpire shall (1) declare the proper batter out; and (2) nullify any advance or score made because of a ball batted by the improper batter or because of the improper batter's advance to first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise.

The key word here is OTHERWISE. That covers a balk. R1 is out & R2 has to return to 1st.
Reply With Quote