Thread: double blood
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2003, 05:08pm
missinglink missinglink is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 77
...Actually Coach B was right. Once the ball had become alive after B1 entered, B1 had become a legal player and you no longer can do anything about it. See casebook play 3.3.3SitB- it covers it......

....In addition, the B coach does not have to call a timeout to get his player back in the game sooner. He may not have felt it was necessary. However, once the team A coach called timeout, the B coach is free to bring his player back in the game using the timeout taken by A. Team B should not be penalized for the decisions of team A.....

Thanks for the pointers to the casebook above and to the rulebook reference. In my research I found more info and and for others who would like further direction on requirement for dual time outs, Situation six, last year's (2002-2003) NFHS BB Rules Interpretions is definitive:"....if the officials direct both players to leave the game, both teams must call a TO to keep the respective players in the game....."
__________________
Who needs the instruction book, let's just put it together.
Reply With Quote