Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green
Now I am going to add my two cents and tell Juulie that she was 100% correct in making that call. It is true that it was not her sideline but ball was in her primary. This is a situation where the officials book does not make sense. Where I officiate trail has first shot at OOB call above FT Line extended... Heres why Trail has ball Lead has off ball which means usuall a bunch of players down the floor. If I am watching off ball there is no way I saw a ball go OOB 30 ft away, unless I am not watching what I am supposed to... If it really wasnt OOB whoops wont be the first thing you ever missed... Iflead was watching player in mid air aint noone watching off ball.. Good Job Juulie I love that mechanic. This just emphasizes you have to work to the middle of the floor (or beyond ) to work the ball! With those mechanics I'd work with you anytime. I know Garote likes it that way too...
|
Kelvin -- Well, thanks for the snaps. The problem in this particular situation wasn't whether she was out of bounds, it was whether she had actually touched the floor oob before she "saved" the ball back to a team mate. I blew it, in blowing too soon, without thinking about whether she touched down before or after she scooped the ball. I wasn't very far away, and my partner was, but I do think he saw the play better than I did, although your point about watching off ball is well-taken. I agree about the general rule that trail should take everything behind the division line. But that far oob call, IS INDEED very tricky.