Thread: Dress code
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2001, 07:19pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by AK ref SE
I think one of the new rules, (I do not have my book) In our pregame with the coach we have to ask him/her "If his team is properly equipped/proper uniform" and that they will wear their uniform properly. I haven't had the problem so I do not know how I would react. But, If I told the players and the coach about the infraction, and THEY choose to not honor your request. To me that could be construed as unsportmanlike!
If it happens to me! I will post whether I chose to T or Not!

AK ref SE
Yes, you are supposed to ask the coach if his players are properly equipped but you don't give them an opportunity to not honor the request. You send them to the bench. Shirt tails are going to come out during the course of a game. No problem, just tuck them back in during a dead ball. If they don't, send them out. BUT YOU CAN'T CALL A T! Sorry, didn't mean to yell.

Three case book plays address players who are imporperly equipped. It makes no difference whether we're talking about shirt tails, jewelry, frayed t-shirts, or long compression shorts. It's all the same and there's no technical foul.

*2.4.5A. Play: Before the contest both coaches verify that their teams are legally equipped. In the third quarter A1 is discovered wearing a ring. Ruling: A1 must leave the game and remove the jewelry and may re-enter the game at the next substitution opportunity, but no penalty is assessed against A1 or the coach.

*2.4.5B. Play: To the referee's pre-game inquiry of coaches regarding all players being legally equipped and will wear the uniform properly, both coaches responded "yes." Three minutes into the first quarter, U1 observes A5 with a tongue stud. A5 is assessed a technical foul and disqualified from further competition. Ruling: When the tongue stud is noticed, A5 must leave the game and may not return until the stud has been removed. There is no technical foul assessed.

3.5.5. Play: Substitute A6 is beckoned and enters the court to replace A1. A6 is wearing: (a) compression shorts below the game pants which extend below the knees; or (b) cut-off jeans extending below the game pants; or (c) jewelry. Ruling: The items in (a), (b) and (c) are illegal and A6 will not be allowed to participate while wearing the items. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the illegal items are removed.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote