Quote:
Originally posted by rwest
...Ref put the ball down again, started counting again. At this point, a player on my daughter's team, Team B, saw somehow what was going on and knew enough to grab a team mate, race across the floor, inbound the ball and make an easy 3-point shot. NOW we got some action!!!
|
I don't have my rule book with me, but doesn't it say that there is a technical foul if the entire team does not return to the floor at approximately the same time? Were the two girls the only two from B on the floor? If they were, is this not a technical foul? And if so, when do you blow the whistle? Has any one ever called a technical in a similar situation?
[/B][/QUOTE]
Funny you should ask this tonight, because I had to call it tonight!! But the answer to the first question is, that it's only a T if the players who don't get onto the floor in the beginning, try to come onto the floor after a time. I mean, it's okay to have only two or three players, but then the other three or two can't come onto the floor later on. Which is what happened tonight. Four players on the floor. Fifth didn't realize she was supposed to be "in". Ball comes inbounds, is dribbled up the court, and --whish!-- blue player jumps up off bench and dashes onto the floor. Easy, if sad, call. Although blue won, anyway.