View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2003, 01:07pm
whistleone whistleone is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally posted by Dougster45
Can someone explain NFHS Case Book 7.2.2 to me?

7.2.2 Situation: A throw-in by A1 (a) strikes B1 who is inbounds and rebounds in flight directly from B1 and then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds; (b) is batted by B1, who is inbounds and the ball is next touched by A1 who is still out of bounds. Ruling: A1 caused the ball to go out of bounds and it is awarded to Team B at that spot for a thorw-in for both (a) and (b).

I have always thought that the player that the ball last touched inbounds caused the ball to go out of bounds. Is this a typo? I'm just a rookie and could use the help.

bty-excellent forum!
Welcome to the forum. I hope you get as much out of it as the rest of us. As for your question: You're reading into it a little too much. By reading the question, yes B1 did cause the ball to go out of bounds but A1 caused the ball to be out of bounds by touching it. B1 caused the ball to be considered out of bounds when B1 touched the ball in bounds. A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds when A1 touches the ball out of bounds. Don't get thrown off by the "causes the ball to go out of bounds". Either way, B's ball for a designated spot throw-in.
__________________
"Golf is deceptively simple and endlessly complicated.
It satisfies the soul and frustrates the intellect.
It is at the same time rewarding and maddening-it is without
a doubt the greatest game mankind has ever invented."
Arnold Palmer
Reply With Quote