View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 02, 2003, 01:45pm
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Patton
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: I didn't see the play, so I'll ask the obvious uninformed question: Is it possible that the interception took place at the 1 yardline and the covering official ruled the momentum exception was in effect when the defender took a knee in the EZ??
No Bob, He intercepted it 5 yds deep in the EZ, started to run it out, changed his mind at the goal line, but then couldn't stop his own momentum. So the ball was clearly in the field of play when his knee touched in the endzone.
The defender's knee was almost on the goal line to give you an idea of how close he was to actually bringing the ball back out.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote