View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2003, 09:28pm
Patton Patton is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
First off, you stated that "the official spotted the ball at the 1 yard line, claiming that the way the player was holding the ball, it was over the plane of the goal line". I don't know to many officials that give post-game interviews. The announcers may have said that, but not the offical. And if you wathed the game, the ball CLEARLY crossed out of the endzone and into the field of play before his knee touched. Ask yourself this, if that was the Nebraska QB scambling in the endzone trying to avoid a safety and the same thing happen, would the ball be spotted at the 1 or would it be a safety? The dead-ball spot is the spot under the foremost point of the ball when it becomes dead by rule (in this case, when the players knee went down).

"On a kick off, if a player receives the ball in the end zone, and drops to a knee in the end zone, it's a touchback. It doesn't matter where the ball is in this scenario." THIS WASN'T A KICKOFF

"Reason: The player took possession in the end zone, and never possessed the ball outside of the end zone. Therefore, dropping to a knee in the end zone is a touchback" YES HE DID POSSESS IT OUTSIDE THE ENDZONE

The officials made a good call.
Reply With Quote