View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2003, 02:05pm
James Neil James Neil is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Quote:
Originally posted by FredFan7
Was daydreaming at the computer today and came up with these two plays. NFHS rules

#1
Third and goal for A on B's 4 yard line with seconds left, tie game. A is out of time outs. A1 runs for a TD, but there is holding by A2 at the 4 yard line. There is :01 left. B accepts the penalty. Third and goal from the 14, when does the clock start?


Clock starts on the snap. Regardless, acceptance of the penalty entitles A to run one play. This is a situation where I fully explain to the captain decline the penalty fourth and goal from the 4 and the clock starts on the snap because it stopped as a result of the apparent touchdown. They will get to run one more play. Accept the penalty clock still starts on the snap but it will be third and goal from the 14.

Quote:

Ed , If B declines the foul , A scores a TD .
Reply With Quote