Thread: Goaltending
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 25, 2003, 11:29pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,138
Quote:
Originally posted by tlynch
I play in an adult league in New York State. The league uses modified High School rules.

On one play in the game tonight, a player shot a layup and was fouled. The ball then hit the backboard, and then the ball was blocked, it was smaked back off of the backboard. The ball never cleared the height of the rim.

The call made was goaltending. Two points and a shot. The ref claimed that once the ball hit the backboard, the defender was not allowed to touch the ball.

I claimed that only in the NBA are you not allowed to touch a ball once it hits the backboard, and that in NCAA and HS goaltending was only illegal after the ball had reached its apex and when the shot has a chance of going in. The rules state nothing about the backboard.

Obviously the ball had not reached its apex because it was still below the rim. If it had reached its apex, then it was on its way down and had no chance of going in.

I own a copy of the NCAA rules but I can not find where I can get a copy of the HS rules. Please advise on what the correct call was and where I can find a copy of the rules.

Thanks,
Todd Lynch
tlynch, you did a very good job of explaining the situation yourself. You are correct. The play as you described it under NFHS and NCAA rules is legal and not goaltending.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote