Ed, your original interpretation is correct. Here's an example from my final varsity game this year where I flagged a defensive back for continuing to contact a receiver that was making no attempt to block him. After the play I explained to the DB that if the receiver is making no attempt to block him then he can't keep contacting him. In this case the pass was in the air so the penalty was pass interference. B's coach on the next play asked our white hat for an explanation and he didn't like it, but it pointed out that he simply didn't understand the rule. It was also obvious that (1) the kids were being coached to continually bump receivers, and (2) officials in previous games were likely not calling this a foul.
|