Quote:
Originally posted by AK ref SE
[BIf it did, I am going to the table bring both coaches together tell them we are going to start the game with 8:00 on the clock and the clock should never have been started. Its the right thing to do.
[/B]
|
It might be the right thing to do, but you have absolutely
no rules basis to do so, unfortunately, in this particular case. The timer
started the clock correctly,
by rule, when the ball was tapped. Four seconds later the timer
stopped the clock correctly,
by rule, when the official blew his whistle. The timer did
not commit a "timing error" of any kind. The manual reference doesn't apply for the simple reason that the official did
not signal for the clock to remain stopped in this case. If he had done so,and the timer had then ran the clock for 4 seconds,- then,yes, you could say that the timer had now committed a "timing error". There is
no rule,play, etc. available that will allow you to put time back on the clock for this play. AAMF, casebook play 5.10.1SitA specifically says that the refereee
can't put any time back on the clock.