View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 25, 2003, 11:22am
sm_bbcoach sm_bbcoach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
[QUOTE]Originally posted by James Neil
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by timharris


question 1
(A) sets up too kick a field goal, during the attempt a gust of wind starts just as the ball gets through the upright and blows the ball back on to the field, the defense recovers the ball in the endzone and think they have a touchback. whats the national federation ruling on this
. According to the NF case book the FG is good
NF , FIELD GOAL
8.4.1 SITUATION A: The field-goal attempt: (a) goes directly over an upright; or (b) is clearly over the crossbar between the uprights. In (a) and (b), the ball is blown back by the wind so that it drops into B's end zone. RULING: In (a), it is an unsuccessful attempt because the ball did not penetrate the plane of the goal between the inside of the uprights extended. It is a legal field goal in (b) and it doesn't matter if the ball comes back above or below the crossbar. [QUOTE]Originally posted by timharris
[B]
I could not find anything abnout this. Does the whole ball need to penetrate through the plane of the goal between the uprights, or just the nose of the ball like at teh EZ?
Reply With Quote