Thread: Questions?
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 02:57pm
SamIAm SamIAm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
My logic, right or wrong, leads me to think that this rule was written to prevent a player from stepping out of bounds while dribbling, whether the player is out of bounds at the time the player is touching the ball or not.

My view:
A dribble occurs when the ball goes from the hand(s) to the floor and back up to a hand again. If the ball does not return to the hand after bouncing off the floor, I think it is reasonable to determine the dribble ended after the last legal dribble. I would require the player retouch the ball after having stepped OOB to judge the player as still dribbling, then whistle a violation.



__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote