Quote:
Originally posted by mick
By that definition, a player inside the endline could throw a long bounce pass (starting a dribble) toward his basket and his momentum could cause him to step on his near endline, and you would call an out-of-bounds violation when he stepped on that line regardless of what the ball was doing.
|
No way, mick. A long bounce pass
may be the start of a dribble, but it is not
necessarily a dribble. If it were, then we would have double dribble violations every time a player ended his dribble and then threw a bounce pass. Your scenario above does not fit the conclusion you want to draw.
Quote:
Likewise, a previous thread scenario:
Let's have a player fast breaking down court and catching a pass. He takes two dribbles and loses his balance (I dunno,... cramp, shoelace, coordination), but he leaves the ball on the court before he steps on the line, or over the line. He is now outa play and watching 9 guys go after the ball possibly from the seat of his shorts.
|
This is obviously an interrupted dribble, which is why the ball is not OOB. The
dribbler didn't step out in that scenario.
Quote:
We ain't callin' him for a violation.
No retouch ---> no violation.
mick
|
I see your point, I just think it's wrong. Here's the rule Camron posted, and I don't see how there's any real debate about it:
RULE 9 SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
Question - The
dribbler steps on or outside a boundary, but
does not touch the ball while he or she is out of bounds. Is this a violation? Answer - Yes.
Again, my two cents, but I don't see how there can be this much debate about it.