Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
I don't believe that a retouch is required for a violation. Only that the official believes the dribbler had control at the time of stepping OOB.
My two cents.
|
Can you rationalize your stance with something other than gut feeling?
|
I've stayed out of this, b/c frankly I thought the answer was completely obvious. But I
think mick is saying that my interpretation of the situation would be incorrect. Just for clarity, is this what we're talking about ---
A1 dribbling the ball. Dribble is never interrupted. While the ball is not in contact with A1, A1 steps on the boundary line. Before A1 touches the ball for the next dribble, the official rules this an OOB violation on A1. Is the official correct?
If this is the question that we're trying to answer, I have always thought that the answer was yes. Isn't the rationalization that A1 has player control during the dribble, even when A1 is not touching the ball? If A1 has player control, and then is OOB, the ball is also OOB. I think the note that Camron quoted is pretty clear. What have I missed?