Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
I am with Mick on this one.
The dribbler made a decision to end the dribble by not touching the ball after the last dribble BEFORE going OOB. That is obvious. Now, you who want to call a violation are saying the dribbler made the decision not to dribble after stepping on the oob line and those who don't want to call a violation can say the dribbler made that decision before stepping on the oob line (he/she could see it coming). Since when do we call violations based on what a player is thinking? We have to call the game based on what happened.
Last touch by A1 was legal, in bounds. A1 goes oob. A1 knows he/she can't continue the dribble and so does not touch the ball. A2 grabs ball. Sounds legal to me.
|
The dribbler cannot choose to abandon his dribble after he has stepped out of bounds - that is a violation.
If the dribbler makes a choice to abondon his dribble first (by passing the ball or batting it away from himself) and then steps out of bounds, this is okay - no violation.
But again, recognizing that you have stepped OOB and therefore, now, discontinue the dribble... is too late. The violation has already ocurred at the time the line was stepped on.
Not much to disagree with unless it is the first statement I made above. And I think that one is pretty well supported by the rules.