View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2003, 12:33pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by pistol
A1, who has used his dribble, pivots and attempts a pass to A2. A2 , however, turns to set a screen just as A1 releases theball. The pass misses everyone and bounces off the floor. A1 chases after the lose ball, recovers it without anyone else touching it, then without pivoting, passes the ball to A2 who rolls to the hoop and scores the winning basket. Great , legal play eh!!!
Not in FED or NCAA rules. This would be an illegal dribble. Once A1 ends his dribble, and pushes the ball to the floor again, he may not be the first to touch it. If he is the first to touch it, the "pass" is considered a second dribble, and A1 has violated.

Quote:
If he had pivoted and passed - violation -right???
The pivot is irrelevant to the play. Violation in either case. Sorry.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote