View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2003, 12:32pm
Hawks Coach Hawks Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally posted by pistol
What about this???

A1 , who has used his dribble , pivots and passes to A2. A2 however was just setting a screen and does not see the pass and it bounces on the floor. Speedy A1 rushes over , recovers the errant pass before touched by anyone else and without pivoting, hits A2 who has rolled to the hoop to score the winning hoop in their rival's gym. The official rules legal play and runs for the door. Was he/she correct.

If A1 pivots and passes after retreiving the ball - it's a violation- correct?
Assuming that A1 had used his dribble and made what was clearly a pass, once it hit the floor and A1 retrieved it, you have a double dribble, as long as no other player so much as brushed the ball. The violation occurs as soon as A1 touches the ball again, not when he pivots and passes for the second time.

Now a more important fact is that if you were involved in this game and this is your only gripe about the officiating, let it go. Everybody boots one now and again. I saw an NCAA game where a straight up double dribble (clear dribble, stop, pivot a bit looking for a pass, clear dribble) went un-noticed. It happens.
Reply With Quote