Shot clock winding down, ball goes out of bounds, whistle just before the horn about as close as can get. We get together, I'm thinking probably put 1 tick on the shot. Nope the other 2 both disagreed and said violation. I know it wasn't a full second, but don't we have to give the ball back with no violation. Some veteran input please.
FIBA:
39.2.2 If the 24-second device signal sounds in error whilst a team hascontrol of the ball, the official shall stop the game immediately.
Possession of the ball and a new 24-second period shall be awarded to the team that previously had control of the ball when the device sounded.
All restrictions related to goal tending and interference with the ball shall apply.
NBA:
Rule 7 - Section II - Paragraph g. If a defensive player causes the ball to go out-of-bounds or causes the ball to enter the basket ring from below, the 24-second clock is stopped and the offensive team shall be awarded the ball. The offensive team shall have only the unexpired time remaining on the 24-second clock in which to attempt a field goal. If the 24-second clock reads 0, a 24-second violation has occurred, even though the horn may not have sounded.
__________________
In Christ,
Bobby
Deut 31:6-8
|