View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2003, 08:35pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Re: Re: Re: Almost correct

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
NFHS 5.2.1 Situation C (item d)...

if touched by the offense and deflected from inside the three point line (two point area) then two points.
So, as I read this case that you've provided, it makes it a two if it is deflected. However, if it is merely touches without imparting a change of momentum, this case does not apply. Would you agree?
No, I wouldn't agree.

The case says "touched" -- nothing about "changing momentum"
It does say "touched AND deflected" (assuming that DTTB quoted what was in the case). A deflection is exactly that (momentum was in my head from the slide/roll discussion). It could certainly be read to say that if it is not deflected but only touched then the case's ruling may not apply.

We have a clear 3-point try that is touched. If it leaves the shooter's hand as a 3 point try, it continues to be a 3-point try until the try ends. If it is on the upward flight and A2 redirects a try, it's a new try from whereever A2 is located (either the original or this new try was not going to be successful. Either way, it will be 2 points or 0 points). If it merely brushes A2's single wild hair, I think the original try continues. Imagine Mugsy Boges (sp?) shooting over a screen set by Shawn Bradey.

I belive this case's purpose is to allow us to distingush between the original try and a subsequent try/tap. If the ball is touched inside the line by the offense, I think it is up to the referee's judegment depending on whether that touch made a difference.
Reply With Quote