View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2003, 02:36pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Exactly! When B gets player control on the throw-in,then set the arrow to A. If A steals the throw-in, give the arrow to B as soon as team A has player control. That follows 4-3-1 AND 4-12.
I agree that as the rule is written, that is probably the correct procedure. But I don't like it. I think that as soon as the ball is at B's disposal after the basket, we should point the arrow to A. This would be the same as when the ball is placed at the disposal of the inbounder after the FTs for a non-common foul, before the arrow has been set. As soon as it's at the inbounder's disposal, you set the arrow to the other team. I think our situation here should be the same. That's why I recommended the addition of "Article 4" above.

And yes, I understand that there's a difference in the case of the FTs. There is actual team control in that case (holding the live ball inbounds before the FT is shot). However, I think the common sense thing is to set it when the ball is at the inbounder's disposal.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote