View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2003, 01:34pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
No offense, but you guys are making this way too hard. This is directly covered by FED 4-3-1. "Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when a player secures control of the ball, as after the jump ball."

When B secures control of the ball after A's basket, you set the arrow toward Team A. The fact that control was secured as a result of the throw-in (as opposed to immediately after the jump ball) doesn't change the fact that Team B has the first possession of the game.

Don't make it harder than it has to be. Juulie nailed it.

Chuck, your logic is heading in the correct direction, but do not forget that possession of the ball for a throw-in is not the same securing control of the ball, but rather than use my Ruling 2, I think that you are heading in the correct direction. Let Team B continue with its throw-in as a result of Team A's field goal and the arrow is then set toward the basket of the opponent of the team that secures player control after the throw-in ends, which would be your application of R4-S3-A1.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote