Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Vietti
This came up in our annual clinic yesterday and I found it a very interesting play to throw out for comment.
Start of Game - Jump ball - Team A taps ball towards their basket. Ball hits the floor and tips off of A2s hand who is standing at the free throw line and goes in the basket.
Score 2 points for Team A.
Team B takes the ball out.
Who gets the first possession arrow?
|
I love this question, I am jealous that I have never thought of this play. I only have my NFHS Rules Book in front of me but the NCAA rules are the same. Here goes.
It is my opinion that there is no rule that directly applies to this situation. So I will give the only two possible rulings that I would consider under the rules.
Ruling 1: NFHS R4-S3-A3a: Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after a violation during or following the jump before a player secures control. This is the least defensible ruling. Under this ruling the possession arrow would be set toward Team A's basket after the ball was placed at the disposal of Team B for the throw-in by Team B after the field goal by A2.
Ruling 2: As soon as the ball becomes dead after Team A's field goal, bring the ball back to the center circle for a jump ball between the two original jumpers.
To be honest, I do not know which Ruling I would go with. I am just going to keep on knocking on wood before every game.
|
Since the ball went in legally give B the ball to run the end line per 7-5-7. Seems pretty simple who should get the arrow once B gets the ball for the first throw-in opportunity.