View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2003, 09:08am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Taso interpretation is NOT correct

Quote:
Originally posted by Damian
So, in the first scenario when the player mouths off to the ref after the coach has been informed, direct T on the coach. Not the player.
Tommy beat me to this one. This is simply incorrect, Damian. When the DQ'd player becomes bench personnel, his comments and actions are treated exactly the same as if the comments or actions were made by the assistant coach. If the assistant curses at you, do you give the T to the head coach? Uh-uh. You T the assistant and give the indirect to the head coach.

Your scenario is no different. The DQ'd player is bench personnel. Therefore, any unsporting comments are charged directly to him and indirectly to the head coach. Read 10-4 PENALTY and especially case 2-8-4 COMMENT.

If TASO really interprets the situaton the way you describe, they are absolutely incorrect.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote