View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2003, 10:17pm
whiskers_ump whiskers_ump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Roger Greene Wrote:

"Well, since everybody else has jumped in, I'll add this for physically assisting.

There is a case play (sorry, I don't recall which code, it might even be a BB play) in which R3 tags and stands ready to run facing toward home on a fly ball to left field. As F7 touches the ball, the 3rd base coach "taps" the runner's back to let him know to run. The case play ruled the runner out for being "physically assisted."


Roger,

PLAY 8.8-19 ASA CaseBook
R1 is on 3B when B5 hits a fly ball to deep center field. F7 is waiting
for the ball when the 3B coach 'taps' leg of R1 in an effort to tell
him to advance. The ball is caught by F7 (a) after the tap by the coach,
or (b) before the tap by the coach.

RULING: In both (a) and (b) R1 is out on runner assistance. (8.7E.)

I still gotta go with Tom's original call. Out for coaches
assistance.

glen
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote