View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2003, 03:15pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is online now
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
This still doesn't answer why NF would allow you to call a game over when you you have direct knowledge that your whistle came before the horn. The game is over because of a lag time rule only. I can't understand why you would not apply that same rule to a middle of the game violation.
Because you're talking about a game clock situation, and I'm talking about a shot clock situation. The FED makes no provision whatsoever for dealing with the shot clock. Therefore, I would do what the NCAA does, since the NCAA does have shot clock rules. Again, just my opinion.
Assuming there's no monitor OR this wasn't near the end of a half, reference, please.

And, comment on why 2-12.10, AR 28 and 5-7.2b and 5-7.2c might not also apply to the shotclock.

(For those w/o NCAA books: AR 28 deals with lag time, although it's not as clear as the FED case; 5-7.2 states that if a foul / violation / held ball occur so near the end of the playing time, the period ends with the foul / violation / held ball)

Reply With Quote