View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2003, 09:24am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by stan-MI
causes the ring to vibrate where the ball contacts the ring before the ring returns to its normal position. [/B]
Stan did say that he didn't have his rules book so this is not an exact quote from the rule, but it did make me think about how this new rule is being interpreted and will be called.
For the record the new rule 9-11-4 actually says:
"...Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before it returns to its original position."

Notice that it says nothing about causing the ring to vibrate. It also does not define clearly what is meant by "original position." Does the ring have to be motionless or does it merely have to have snapped back from the break-away position to the horizontal position. NFHS Interp play #15 uses the words "still moving," but doesn't tell us if this movement is up, down, or side-to-side or before or after the rim returned to its original position. It is just too vague. I expect some casebook plays and a change in the wording this rule next year.

I read this rule quite strictly and take it to mean exactly what it says. I do not consider the mere fact that the rim is still vibrating after snapping back into position to be encompassed by this rule. IMO, causing the rim to vibrate is either a T or it is legal. Certainly going up and slapping the rim and causing it to vibrate well before an opponent takes a shot, is not a T, nor does it seem to be covered by this new rule. Nor does contacting the rim and causing it to vibrate during a try or block and then while it is still moving, another player grabbing the rebound and trying again, seem to fall under the auspices of this new rule.

I think far too many officials are now going to call BI when the ring is only vibrating or moving slightly, but not returing to the horizontal position at a 90 degree with the plane of the backboard. I do believe it was the intent of the rules committee to include the situations where the rim and backboard are shaking after a dunk or legal grasp in the BI violation.

I will only call it, if the rim is not horizontal (break-away rim in the down position) and strikes the ball on its way back up. This is completely different from motion after it snaps back.

What do you guys think?
Reply With Quote