View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2001, 09:57am
walter walter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
NCAA 4-61-6 The act of shooting shall begin simultaneously with the start of the try and end when the ball is clearly in flight, including when the shooter is an airborne shooter. Exception (MEN): An airborne shooter who is fouled by an opponent while in the air but after the ball is released shall be considered to be in the act of shooting until one of the airborne shooter's feet return to the floor. The NFHS rule is 4-1-1 an airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try for goal or has tapped the ball and has not yet returned to the floor. The NFHS, at least as far as I could find, doesn't goes as far as the NCAA in stating when a player is no longer considered an airborne shooter (i.e. one foot or two feet). The traveling rule NFHS 4-43 talks about airborne players and lists provisions for one foot hitting the ground and becoming the pivot foot (if catching a pass while both feet are off the floor, NFHS 4-43-2 a2,3). Therefore, my interpretation is that once one foot hits the ground, a player is considered on the ground and no longer airborne. A casebook play that's close is NFHS 10.6.1B B1 takes a certain spot on the floor before A1 jumps from the floor to catch a pass (a) A1 lands on B1 or (b) B1 moves into a new spot while A1 is airborne. A1 comes to the floor on one foot and then charges into B1. Ruling: In (a) and (b) the foul is on A1.
Reply With Quote