Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by Jurassic Referee In both cases, the book call is a technical foul, with no warning. Unless the player's actions lead directly to a basket though, most officials will warn the player first before nailing them with a T.
 
 Rules references are rulebook R10-3-4 amd casebook 10.3.4SitB.
 | 
	
 JR --  In the second case, I think I'm seeing the advantage in receiving the pass, whether or not the basket goes.  I think I'll call it when the ball is caught, without warning.
In the first case, I would warn first,  unless I see some obvious advantage gained.