Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Quote:
Originally posted by stan-MI
Is this situation any different in theory than a trailing team attempting to stop the clock by intentionally violating the plane on a throw in following a made basket in the final seconds of a game?
|
Yes - the intentional violation of the plane results in a clock stoppage and changes the situation from OOB with clock running til expiration to OOB with clock stopped and time remaining. Now the team must inbound the ball - that is a huge difference.
|
Again,Coach,if the defense commits an intentional plane violation during the time frame when the clock would have expired(5 seconds or less remaining), by rule we are supposed to ignore the violation and just let the clock run out. Casebook play 9.2.11Comment.